By David Wright

Back to David Wright's Tunes »
Back to List of Composers »

Wells (Second). C.M.

A C major plain tune in 3/4 time. Composed 2001.

Text from Isaac Watts, 1709.

Listen to recordings:

  • Wells Second -- Young People's 2013

Download files: pdf


Named for Charles and Jane Wells. Charles organized the northeast Ohio (Cleveland area/Oberlin) monthly singing, and later the weekly singings at Oberlin College, when I was there and thus was the person most directly to blame for me becoming a Sacred Harp singer.

Published in Oberlin Harmony (2001) and in The Sacred Harp, Revised Cooper Edition (2012).


There is a house not made with hands,
Eternal and on high;
And here my spirit waiting stands
Till God shall bid it fly.

Shortly this prison of my clay
Must be dissolved and fall;
Then oh, my soul, with joy obey
Thy heav'nly Father's call.

I long to see my friends again
And hear them sweetly say:
Come, weary dove, here is thy home
Then fold thy wings and stay.